Confessions of a Sexy Writer

August 25, 2009

I Am…

Filed under: Uncategorized — melissawrites @ 4:17 am

I recently taught a life skills class, and I assigned my students to write an “I Am” poem.  Here is the poem I wrote as an example.  Fun stuff.

I am a gruesome Halloween decoration, a horror movie in the dark, a bloody scream

I am hot chai tea latte on a brisk fall evening

I am a suburban neighborhood in West Texas college town

I am a homemade pink and red glitter heart on Valentine’s Day

I am using my knowledge and experience to shape other people’s lives

I am a master of literature and writing

I am a future Pulitzer Prize, Nobel Prize, National Book Award winner

I am screaming through the air at 120 miles per hour

I am a loving girlfriend, daughter, sister, aunt, and friend

I am basking in the sun reading a book by John Irving

I am standing in the ocean letting waves pound my legs

I am the twang of an old country and western song

I am red peek toe pumps and a little black dress

I am smoky eyes and red wine lips

I am a flash of lightning, a rumble of thunder, a torrent of rain

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

